Handguns > Revolver

Ruger Single-Ten Revolver Review

Slow down and savor the 10-shot capacity of this new take on a Ruger classic.

9/27/2011

I am a great believer in the idea that most endeavors can become an art form in the hands of a dedicated enthusiast. When it comes to shooting, we see a variety of specialized firearms handled by experts with spectacular results. Finely tuned rifles complete 1,000-yard shots, hand-crafted shotguns win Olympic gold medals and tricked-out handguns break world records for speed and accuracy. But with all of the various types of shooting out there, shooters should never forget the joys of sitting down at the range with a great plinking handgun like Ruger’s new Single-Ten .22 Long Rifle Single-Action Revolver.

The Single-Ten arrives from the factory with the high-quality fit and finish we have come to expect from Ruger, plus a few touches that are real improvements to the original idea. The earlier version of this revolver, the Single-Six, comes with two six-shot cylinders, one chambered in .22 Long Rifle and the other in .22 Mag., and the choice of either a 5.5-inch or 6.5-inch barrel. The Single-Ten is fitted with a single, unfluted .22 Long Rifle cylinder boasting a 10-round capacity, and is currently available with a 5.5-inch barrel. Noting the positive reception of this revolver, it wouldn’t be surprising to see more variations available soon.

The revolver is made of stainless steel with a satin finish. It features Ruger's New Model transfer bar safety, which allows the gun to be carried safely with all 10 chambers loaded. The grip frame is fitted with a beautiful set of hardwood gunfighter grips. The gunfighter panels are a slimmed down version of Ruger's traditional single-action grip, which give the grip a more narrow profile that feels wonderful in the hand. The trigger gauged out at 4-pounds 5-ounces, with a crisp, no-creep feel. 
 
The Williams fiber-optic sights offer a useful blend of features. All too often the now-popular fiber optic is the star of the show, while the iron of the sight is neglected. But that’s not the case here. The angled, serrated rear blade holds a square notch to match the square front sight blade. The green fiber optic in the front sight, which is slightly larger than two optic dots in the rear sight, offers just the right amount of brightness. The result is a sight picture that is complemented, rather than dominated, by the use of the light fibers. As a result, the shooter gets the best of fiber optics for field use and square sights for target work. The rear sight is click-adjustable for windage and elevation. 

At the Range 
Ruger's single-action revolvers are a treat to shoot. There's something about the shape and balance of the single-action design that makes it point naturally. It becomes an extension of the arm, making this class of handgun a pleasure to work with. The Single-Ten's balance is right on the money, and the slim gunfighter grips feel terrific. The 10-shot cylinder is easy to load. With the loading gate open, each click of the cylinder lines a chamber up directly with the ejector rod, so it’s a no-fumble process to kick out spent cartridge cases and to load in fresh rounds.

If some shooters expressed a concern about the previous incarnation of this handgun, the Single-Six, it's been that the rifling of the barrel had to be adjusted to make room for the .22 Mag.’s larger .224-inch diameter bullet, which robbed the .22 Long Rifle’s .222-inch bullet of some performance or accuracy. Others argue that a .002 difference is not exactly the end of the world. Besides, they claim the soft lead of the Long Rifle bullet expands just a bit to fill in the slightly larger rifling of the .22 Mag. barrel. Whichever side of the fence you’re on, this difference of opinion certainly hasn’t slowed the sales of the Single-Six over the years. With the Single-Ten dedicated to shooting .22 Long Rifle only, I expected to see solid accuracy, but I was not expecting the results I got.

Starting at the bench, the Single-Ten's accuracy was tested using five-shot groups fired at 25 yards. The gun's excellent sights, comfortable grips and crisp, light trigger pull made the work of generating tight groups a breeze. CCI Mini Mag 36-grain, copper-plated hollow points produced an average group size of 2.17 inches. CCI Stinger 32-grain, copper-plated hollow points produced an average of 2.25 inches, followed by Winchester Super X 40-grain, copper-plated hollow points, with an average of 2.50 inches. Impressive, especially since the last time I produced this level of accuracy with a handgun, I was shooting a tricked-out, semi-auto loaded with some of the finest custom factory ammo available. A tuned-up, semi-auto pistol’s level of accuracy is replicated by an out-of-the-box revolver. That's nothing to sneeze at.

With the serious work completed, I went to town firing a variety of high-quality, inexpensive bulk ammunition along with some unusual loads through the Single-Ten. This revolver can be lovingly called a "roach" gun, meaning, it will happily digest any ammunition you choose to feed it. The cylinder will accept .22 Short and .22 Long, as well as .22 Long Rifle. It had no problem with unusual rounds, like Aquila’s low-velocity Colibri, CCI .22 shot shells or CCI CB Shorts. High-quality hollow points also ran flawlessly. Affordable bulk ammo worked just fine, except for a single failure to fire. The clear mark left by the firing pin on the cartridge rim explained that a faulty primer was to blame, not the Single-Ten. All of the spent cases ejected as expected. At the end of the shooting session, the gun was quite dirty but still humming along smoothly.

Final Thoughts
In this day and age of high-tech semi-autos, why consider buying a single-action .22 revolver? Because in all the rush and hustle of our busy modern lives, and with the increasing focus on firearms as self-defense tools, it's easy to forget that target shooting is meant to be fun. We work hard all day, knuckle down to get the needs of the family met in the evening and we focus on the serious practice of honing our defensive skills on the gun range. This is all well and good, but where's the joy in it all?

The Ruger Single-Ten embodies the idea of slowing down and enjoying an afternoon of relaxing range time. I don't say this to detract from the other roles this revolver is intended to fill. The Single-Ten is ideal for small-game hunting and for use as a field gun. But the features of the Single-Ten, and its exceptional accuracy, all come together to succeed in refining the underappreciated art of perfected plinking.

Manufacturer: Sturm, Ruger & Co., Ruger.com
Model: Single-Ten
Action: Single-Action Revolver
Caliber: .22 Long Rifle
Finish: Stainless Steel
Grips: Hardwood Gunfighter
Sights: Williams Adjustable Fiber Optic
Barrel Length: 5.50”
Overall Length: 11.00”
Height: 5.00”
Width: 1.44 “
Weight: 38 Ozs.
Capacity: 10 Rounds
Twist: 1:14” LH
Suggested Retail Price: $619.00

Share |

Comments

ADD YOUR COMMENT

Enter your comments below, they will appear within 24 hours


Your Name


Your Email


Your Comment

40 Responses to Ruger Single-Ten Revolver Review

David L Stephens wrote:
November 19, 2013

The only problem i've had with pistol is when i let a bud hold it i can't get it back! This is a beautiful and great shooting pistol. i did a lil trigger adjustment , 4 lb pull, other than that just used it . i've prolly put 5,000 rds of winchester super x 40 grain power points thru it and it just gets better and better. thanks Ruger for a fun and very reliable weapon!

Max Vander Linden wrote:
September 09, 2013

We go shooting in a friends back yard.We lay all of our weapons out from 45 Long Colts to Browning .22 Autos. The only gun that is never on the table is my Single Six. They shooter holding it has a huge smile on their face. Bought Single 10 Today it will not be on table either. I don't like Ruger Catalogue but there are some gems in it. The Single Six and Single Tens are true gems.

Cranston wrote:
August 31, 2013

Saw the Ruger Single 10 today and ordered one for my wife. She is small framed and will love this pistol. She has fired my Ruger target auto and will enjoy this piece as well. If not then its mine. Lol

Michael J. Spreckelson wrote:
July 06, 2013

I have several Ruger revolvers and the single ten is my favorite.

Jon wrote:
January 22, 2013

The single ten is my first and last ruger revolver. It had to be tweeked to get the gate lever to work freely. Then an aluminum shim solved the problem. It is the dirtyist gun I own. My hand gets blackened by the blow-by at the front of the cylinder. Nice looking gun though.

Justin wrote:
January 19, 2013

Unfortunately, I just experienced the exact same thing as Bill. I just bought the Ruger Single 9 4 days ago. Cyclinder sticks (JAMS) in the same spot when it's loaded and will not cycle further. The cyclinder is too tight. I tried this multiple times. It won't even spin by hand when loading once that bad cylinder approaches the barrel. That's using WMR JHP rounds. It actually scratches the back of the round trying to cycle. Royal dissapointment for my first Ruger. I paid almost $520 for it with tax (new). Taking it back tomorrow. What poor QA.

SA Fan wrote:
January 04, 2013

If this new Ruger shoots half as well as my old model single six then it is a keeper. That stainless with the wood grips is BEAUTIFUL!

James wrote:
December 17, 2012

I had trouble with cylinder locking up too, but that was with cheap Federal ammo. The rims stuck out too far. The gun worked flawlessly with all other brands of ammo. I thought the hi vis sights were a gimmick at first, but I really like them now. This is a really fun gun to shoot.

Bill K wrote:
November 10, 2012

Bought one today. Doesnt work right out of the box. Cylinder to tight.Have to force shells into it. When you finally get it loaded cylinder locks up. Taking this gun back tomorrow.

David L. wrote:
October 07, 2012

Got this gun yesterday after looking at thousands at a gun show. It's really a good looking pistol and fits well in the hand. Shoots great too. I actually use shorts for plinking and it's still pretty accurate! Who would buy a 22Mag? What's that going to do that my 45 cal 1911 won't do?

Just Sayin wrote:
July 31, 2012

I saw this gun today in person, and I don't know how anyone can say that it is ugly. It is a beautiful gun and love the fiber optic sights on it! Won't know how it shoots as I will not own it till the end of the week.

kakinuma-kun wrote:
July 08, 2012

Bought one in blued steel and love it. Having an extra four shots per reload is great, and the entire package is done so well. I just wish that Ruger would offer the exact same package on the Single Six platform in .327 Federal Magnum...

Ty wrote:
July 05, 2012

This is definitely going to be my next gun. Those extra four rounds in the cylinder was a great idea to implement, the sighting system is an upgrade from the Single Six, and it just plain looks great. Hold it in your hand, close your eyes, pull the hammer back real slow and feel how smooth and crisp the action is. Highest regards go to Ruger on this one, excellent firearm.

One Shot wrote:
June 28, 2012

I bought one in August of 2011 new. In April of this year, 2012 the timeing went bad as well as the Pawl was bad/worn. I sent it back to Ruger in April and they Pawl, they didnt. I sent it back the second time and just got it back this week, June 2012. I fired 10 rounds and the Pawl is already showing signs of wear....I'm at a loss of words and this is the 1st time I've ever had a complaint about a Ruger firearm. I've ownd a few in the past and own a few now. The Single Ten I have, just wish I could "have it right" as it is not right. It may be a lower quality of "metal" they are useing in the Pawl? I've onle heard of one other Single Ten owner that has had the same problems as I've had with mine.

Paul T wrote:
April 23, 2012

Picked up mine yesterday and love it. Price is down to $466. If I ever wanted to buy a gun for it's good looks this would be the one. The gunfighter grips feel natural, trigger travel is short as would be expected for a single action, and the action is crisp. So far I have only been to the range but as soon as I can I will be on the back side of the property where the tin cans roam. It's them or me.

J. Raulston wrote:
April 15, 2012

I have a single 6 and love it, and I added the single 106 this weekend hands down an awsome little shooter. I see plenty pf squirrels in the single actions' future.

mike m wrote:
April 08, 2012

Love it! No one pays full retail price anymore. The $460 price is more accurate locally. So that argument is moot point. Ten round count is wonderful. A great time to be alive and opportunity to buy one is ours. I'm ordering one soon! Thanks Ruger and company. Wonderful creation!

Gunfighterengineer wrote:
April 06, 2012

David: You are a guy that doesn't know rabbit eggs about quality or manufacturing but feels entitled to have a Ruger cheap.

K.W. wrote:
March 19, 2012

What is so special about a 22 mag for those of you who need it for home defense I recommend you get a shotgun because with either caliber I just bought a single10 and would not trade for all of the single 6 s with the 22 mag cylinder rather you shoot a 22 or a 44mag if you know how to shoot all you need is 1 shot

K.W. wrote:
March 19, 2012

What is so special about a 22 mag for those of you who need it for home defense I recommend you get a shotgun because with either caliber I just bought a single10 and would not trade for all of the single 6 s with the 22 mag cylinder rather you shoot a 22 or a 44mag if you know how to shoot all you need is 1 shot

Slimyo wrote:
March 06, 2012

Bought a ten today gonna buy my son one tomarro. Great gun

Karl wrote:
February 26, 2012

Bought a blue steel distibutor special. Beautiful, fun and accurate like the review says. This is the kind of gun your grandkids can inherit. Got it for $475 tax and all.

SabreActual wrote:
February 10, 2012

Purchased the "10" today and it is one of the best evolutions of Ruger's western style revolver line I've seen in years. Beautiful craftsmanship, very comfortable in the hand, swiftly on target due to the truly practical sighting system, lovely trigger press and a nice departure from all the "black" and "combat" pistols/revolvers we've had shoved in front of us for years now. Great job, Ruger! Thanks for making light shooting/plinking fun again.

coosa wrote:
January 02, 2012

I bought one for $460 when they were first available. Nobody charges $619.

Tool Authority wrote:
December 31, 2011

Mike Baker "are you kidding me?" By no way is this gun ugly. I have handled and looked at hundreds of guns and have to say this is one of the best looking manufactured guns in years. I've seen much higher priced guns that don't even come close to the same machining surface finish, attention to detail and comfort in the fit of my hand. I guess I'm biased when it comes to an all SST hand gun compaired to a cheap polymer material. I'm not against polymer material, it has it place and need, but when it comes to high quality and looks in a firearm, I will stick to a quality manufactured pistol like this Ruger Single-Ten. You really have to put one of these in your hands like I did before you can say it's Ugly. From someone who has been designing metal tooling for Areospace and for Assembling weopons for military defense for 30 years, I have to say that Ruger gets an A+ for looks and Craftmanship.

The priest wrote:
December 28, 2011

Got this gun a few days ago. Sweet revolver. People who say it looks ugly or so are crazy. Beautiful gun! Hesitated to buy one because it doesn't shoot mags, but agree with previous person on mags. To spendy and I have bigger guns for more damage. Shoots excellent. Took it over to all of my friends and they all said it is the best single action they have seen. One of them bought an original single six as a kid and still has it so I trust his opinion. Buy this gun. You won't be diss appointed!

Buckshot wrote:
December 22, 2011

I'm a huge Ruger fan, and have had a Single Six in the inventory for decades. I handled a Single Ten recently, loved the grip, but prefer the longer indexing stroke of the Single Six and the traditional sights. The optical front site on the Single Ten might not like the holster long term. Given the cost, I'd still take the Six with two cylinders over the Ten, but I'm definitely after a pair of those Gunfighter grips...

kodeberg wrote:
December 17, 2011

Hahahaha! Are you kidding elrodcod? Now that is the height of laziness!

elrodcod wrote:
December 11, 2011

The thought of having ten chambers to clean instead of six is off-putting.

Wally Wong wrote:
December 09, 2011

I loved this when I first saw it, and it felt great in the hand. Been thinking about buying it for months now. The price however is way too high for 22LR and to frank, the problem with this gun is the more I look at it, the less attractive it become, I mean it's kind of ugly looking.

David wrote:
November 26, 2011

Anybody that would spend MORE than 400 + $`s on an out of the box Factory S/A 22 L/R Revolver , has brain damage ! I ask Ruger" Co. or anybody else , when my pay check hasn`t risin a PENNY" in 11 + years , Why should you ask me to pay You" $600 buck`s for a your new gun ?

SJ wrote:
November 19, 2011

This revolver is NOT ugly! It is gorgeous! The value of a 22 mag over a 22 RF is what? (If I need something bigger I might bring a SR40 or a Blackhawk .41 mag- or a rifle, would never ask a 22 mag do what those can. 22 mag ammo is overpriced for what it does. Even a 22 Hornet makes much more sense...) Laser on a single action revolver? WHY? I use a single action for fun or hunting, don't need no steenking laser for that. Lasers belong on carry weapons, but this is a trail & range gun. So we each have our own preferences and priorities, and some here don't line up with mine. This is absolutely fine, by the way, but I still don't understand why someone would see fit to criticize something which just doesn't pertain to them. The wonderful thing about the marketplace is that we get to choose what does suit us! And then there is the price. Yep, pretty steep for a rimfire. No doubt would last forever and offer excellent performance, but it will be out of my reach (partly by choice) unless the price goes south of $400, even accounting for it being stainless steel. But I cannot deny the appeal of this sweet revolver. Made in the USA by Ruger. Yes, sweet indeed.

Matthew wrote:
October 04, 2011

I like the look of this revolver. As I am in Ireland can you tell me if this little ruger dream is available here ?

Redrock96 wrote:
September 30, 2011

I have been shooting Rugers since my first Blackhawk.357 Mag was saved up for when just out of high School in 1962. A 10/22, Security Six .357 Mag and a Mark II .22 Target Competion model came along some years later. The Single Six in stainless [ with rear adjustable sight and the .22WMR cylinder ] has been on my wish list for some time. Now I'm excited for having waited so long as this new 10 round Single- 10 has been introduced. Even with a half dozen extra mags ... the 10 round mags in each of the 10/22 and Mark II spoil you for not needing to reload so often when the range is busy and folks may be waiting a turn at a bench. So if Ruger Inc. is reading this I hope a .22WMR cylinder version is in the works cause I'll be one of the first in line to order one in Stainless having a rear adjustable sight & preferably a 6.5 inch bbl.to gain a tad more stability for my now older and a bit shakier hands.

Mike Baker wrote:
September 29, 2011

It may shoot ten, but it is butt ugly. I would sooner shoot the Ruger semi auto if I wanted ten rounds.

Scott wrote:
September 29, 2011

A great addition to the single action family, made in America and fun. But these days I look for a laser before I look for the gun, kind of like looking for software before you look for hardware. This fun gun also fills the role as a training tool for kids, grandkids, and new users, and so begs for a quality laser. The quality sights, the capacity, and the brand rock, but I need 2 more things at this price point: a laser and a cylinder for 22 mag.

wctriumph wrote:
September 29, 2011

$619 is a little steep for a .22LR only SA. I will keep my Super Single Six convertible thank you. Also, I have never heard the complaint of the larger bore for the magnum affecting .22LR accuracy, mine shoots as accurate as any other .22LR out there. Knocking off soda cans at 80 yards and 12 gauge husks at 30 yards is no sweat with this little pistol. I am not trading mine in for the new one anytime soon. 10 shots is a nice feature though.

Mo wrote:
September 29, 2011

I like it and will probably get one. My Single Six is one of my favorites and frequently goes along when I'm in the woods. I rarely use the 22 Mag cylinder though it was comforting (in a better than nothing way) to have it with me in the tent when camped remotely with Elk quarters hanging in the trees. It gets used for Grouse (legal in this state), plinking, targets, silhouette matches and practice. It does it all and even shoots the cheap ammo very well. I can see the Single Ten doing all that too. An extra four rounds in the cylinder instead of in my pocket seems a lot more practical to me, especially for small game hunting - load it up in the morning, shoot all day... It would also be handy it you're the type that uses a variety of ammo - perhaps index the cylinder on the high velocity ammo but have some sub-sonic a few clicks away to handle the chores more quietly with less meat damage.

Travis Morgan wrote:
September 28, 2011

$619 for a .22? My foot!

Mickey wrote:
September 28, 2011

When Ruger makes this gun in .22Mag only, I'll be first in line to buy one. I see no reason to buy this gun, at this price in .22LR only. 10 shots are a big advantage in desense use but .22LR is too weak for that use. I'M a big Ruger fan and own quite a few but I'll go to the range with my 2 cylinder single six.